Musée Louis-Hémon 2017-10-25T19:47:31+00:00

MUSÉE LOUIS-HÉMON

HISTORIC

The oldest museum in Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean region

The Louis-Hémon Museum, initially called Maria Chapdelaine Museum, was founded in 1938 by the Montreal society “Les amis de Maria Chapdelaine” (Friends of Maria Chapdelaine) whose mandate was to commemorate the memory of Louis Hémon and to set forth his masterpiece Maria Chapdelaine. The society negotiated a long-term rental for the house where the writer stayed to establish a museum in his memory. At the time, Éva Bouchard, Laura Bouchard’s sister, wife of Samuel Bédard who hired Louis Hémon, is the owner of the small house.

First Maria-Chapdelaine Museum, 1940

Identified, since 1918, as Louis Hémon’s inspiration for Maria Chapdelaine’s character, Éva Bouchard becomes the museum’s “guardian” starting the opening. While embodying the role of the literary character, she greets tourists from Canada, United States and from Europe who wish to discover the universe of the novel and, of course, to meet its main character. She personified this role until her death in 1949.

Some modifications were made to the Samuel-Bédard House during this period. Among other things, a building, described as Éva Bouchard’s house, was juxtaposed to the hangar.

The Museum in the 1950s

In the 1970s, this building is destroyed and the hangar’s wall is rebuilt. Another building is built to the west of the Samuel-Bédard House uses for the reception of visitors and the site administration. It is named Maria-Chapdelaine Pavilion. Also at the time, a small reconstitution of the village of Péribonka is built and visitors can explore it in carriage.

The classification of the Samuel-Bédard House and the construction of the Contemporary Pavilion

At the beginning of the 1980s, the Samuel-Bédard House is restored to give it its original aspect. In 1983, the Ministry of Cultural Affairs recognizes the house as a historic monument. The major museum development project continues to give rise to the Contemporary Pavilion in which an exhibit in memory of Louis Hémon is presented. This building is inaugurated in 1986 in the presence of the daughter of the writer.

The Louis-Hémon Museum (Contemporary Pavilion) inaugurated in 1986

Today, the museum is composed of the Samuel-Bédard House, classified under the Cultural Heritage Act adopted by the government of Quebec in 2012, as well as the Contemporary pavilion that houses the permanent exhibition on the author and his book and a temporary or itinerant one that changes on an annual basis.

MISSION

« To preserve and to transmit to future generations the quest of Louis Hémon, to promote the territory of the land of Maria Chapdelaine and to offer a place of creation and sharing that emphasizes french orality, reading and writing. »


Samuel-Bédard House, 2012

PROJECT

The museum team is actually working on a major project: the redeployment of the Louis-Hémon Museum in the heart of the municipality of Péribonka.

More information to come.

Musée Louis-Hémon 2017-11-09T19:30:22+00:00

MUSÉE LOUIS-HÉMON

HISTORIQUE

La plus ancienne institution muséale au Saguenay–Lac-Saint-Jean

Le Musée Louis-Hémon, initialement appelé Musée Maria Chapdelaine, a été fondé en 1938 par la société montréalaise Les amis de Maria Chapdelaine dont le mandat était de commémorer la mémoire de Louis Hémon et de faire connaître son œuvre maitresse Maria Chapdelaine. La société négocie une location à long terme pour la maison dans laquelle séjourna l’écrivain afin d’y aménager un musée à sa mémoire. À cette époque, Éva Bouchard, la sœur de Laura Bouchard épouse de Samuel Bédard qui engagea Louis Hémon, est propriétaire de la petite maison.

Premier Musée Maria-Chapdelaine, 1940

Identifiée, depuis 1918, comme étant l’inspiratrice de Louis Hémon pour la création du personnage de Maria Chapdelaine, Éva Bouchard devient, à l’ouverture du Musée, la « gardienne ». Elle accueille, tout en incarnant le rôle du personnage littéraire, les touristes provenant du Canada, des États-Unis et de l’Europe qui souhaitent découvrir l’univers du roman et, bien sûr, y rencontrer son héroïne. Elle assurera ce rôle jusqu’à sa mort en 1949.

Certaines modifications à la Maison Samuel-Bédard ont cours pendant cette période. Entre autres, un bâtiment, décrit comme la maison d’Éva Bouchard, est juxtaposé au hangar.

Le Musée dans les années 1950

Dans les années 1970, ce bâtiment est détruit et le mur du hangar est rebâti. On construit alors un bâtiment à l’ouest de la Maison Samuel-Bédard ayant comme fonction principale l’accueil des visiteurs et l’administration du site. Ce bâtiment sera appelé le pavillon Maria-Chapdelaine. Aussi, à cette époque, une petite reconstitution du village de Péribonka est construite et les visiteurs peuvent y faire des tours de calèche.

Le classement de la Maison Samuel-Bédard et la construction du pavillon contemporain

Au début des années 1980, on procède à la restauration de la Maison Samuel-Bédard afin de lui redonner son aspect d’origine. En 1983, le ministère des Affaires culturelles reconnaît la maison « monument historique ». Le grand projet de développement du site muséal se poursuit pour donner naissance au pavillon contemporain dans lequel une exposition à la mémoire de Louis Hémon est présentée. Ce bâtiment est inauguré en 1986 en présence de la fille de l’écrivain.

Le Musée Louis-Hémon (pavillon contemporain) inauguré en 1986

Aujourd’hui, le site du Musée est composé de la Maison Samuel-Bédard, maintenant classée en vertu de la Loi sur le patrimoine culturel adoptée par le gouvernement du Québec en 2012, ainsi que du pavillon contemporain qui abrite l’exposition permanente sur l’auteur et son œuvre et une exposition temporaire ou itinérante qui change sur une base annuelle.

MISSION

« Préserver et transmettre aux générations futures la quête de Louis Hémon, valoriser le territoire du pays de Maria Chapdelaine et offrir un lieu de création et d’échange privilégiant l’oralité, la lecture et l’écriture d’expression française. »


Maison Samuel-Bédard, 2012

PROJET DE DÉVELOPPEMENT

L’équipe de l’institution muséale travaille actuellement sur un projet d’envergure : le redéploiement du Musée Louis-Hémon au cœur de la municipalité de Péribonka.

Plus d’information à venir.